Minnesota enacted new restrictions on drivers under age 18 in 2008.
1. For the first six months a new teen driver may not operate a motor vehicle carrying more than one passenger under the age of 20 years who is not a member of the holder's immediate family.
For the second six months, teen drivers can't have more than three passengers who are under the age of 20 years and who are not members of the holder's immediate family, unless a accompanied by a parent or guardian.
2. For the first six months of provisional licensure, a teen driver can't be on the road between midnight and 5 a.m. unless the youth is:
(a) driving between the license holder's home and place of employment;
(b) driving between the license holder's home and a school event for which the school has not provided transportation;
(c) driving for employment purposes; or
(d) accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years of age.
3. Drivers under 18 will be unable to get a license if they are convicted of a crash-related moving violation, or more than one moving violation that isn't related to a crash.
4. Drivers under 18 are not allowed to have consumed any alcohol whatsoever before they get behind the wheel.
Source: State law
Your support matters.
You make MPR News possible. Individual donations are behind the clarity in coverage from our reporters across the state, stories that connect us, and conversations that provide perspectives. Help ensure MPR remains a resource that brings Minnesotans together.