Feds approve disaster declaration for Hennepin, Anoka counties

The federal government on Tuesday approved Gov. Mark Dayton's request for a major federal disaster declaration for Hennepin and Anoka counties following the deadly May 22 tornado. The approval means the counties are now eligible for federal disaster assistance.

A preliminary damage assessments revealed $16.3 million in cleanup costs and damages. FEMA will pay 75 percent.

Doug Neville, a spokesman for the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, said eligible work includes emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities like roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.

The federal government is still reviewing Dayton's request for assistance to individuals.