Burning restrictions lifted in 32 counties

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has lifted fire restrictions in all or parts of 32 Minnesota counties as wet weather lowers the fire danger.

The restrictions were lifted at 9:30 a.m. Tuesday.

The counties are scattered across roughly the northern two-thirds of Minnesota.

Restrictions remain in Cook, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington, Roseau, northern St. Louis and northern Beltrami counties. The DNR expects those restrictions will be lifted soon.

Although state burning restrictions are lifted in the 32 counties, local areas, counties or municipalities may have regulations or restrictions on burning. Check with local authorities to obtain proper permits before burning.

Fire restrictions page on DNR website

Grow the Future of Public Media

MPR's budget year comes to a close on June 30. Help us close the gap by becoming a Sustainer today. When you make a recurring monthly gift, your gift will be matched by the MPR Member Fund for a whole year!