Minnesota's 1965 Voting Rights Act champions

Steve Simon, left, and Dr. Josie Johnson
Secretary of State Steve Simon, left, presented the 1965 Voting Rights Act award to Dr. Josie Johnson during a ceremony at the Landmark Center in St. Paul.
Courtesy Peter Bartz-Gallagher | Office of the Secretary of State

Civil rights pioneer Dr. Josie Johnson and four members of Minnesota's 1965 congressional delegation discuss the importance of voting and democracy.

Walter Mondale, Al Quie, Don Fraser and Alec Olson were honored in ceremonies marking the 1965 Voting Rights Act, which was signed Aug. 6, 1965 by President Lyndon B. Johnson. Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon hosted the event at the Landmark Center in St. Paul on July 30, 2015.

Before you go...

MPR News is dedicated to bringing you clarity in coverage from our reporters across the state, stories that connect us, and conversations that provide perspectives when we need it most. We rely on your help to do this. Your donation has the power to keep MPR News strong and accessible to all during this crisis and beyond.