On Air
Open In New Tab
MPR News

Minnesota, North Dakota agree on concealed-carry reciprocity

Share story

North Dakota has reached concealed weapon license reciprocity with Minnesota, North Dakota Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem announced Wednesday.

Stenehjem said North Dakota Class 1 concealed weapon licenses are now recognized in Minnesota, and vice versa.

All Minnesota license holders have reciprocity in North Dakota but only Class 1 license holders in North Dakota have reciprocity in Minnesota. Class 1 licenses require a shooting proficiency requirement.

Stenehjem says his office has attempted to gain reciprocity with Minnesota for several years. But he says only one word in Minnesota law "stymied the efforts." That word was "substantially."

Minnesota required another state's laws to be substantially similar to its own. But Minnesota lawmakers removed the word "substantially" from the requirement earlier this year.

"By removing one word, the Minnesota Legislature at last made reciprocity between our states a possibility," Stenehjem said in a statement.

North Dakota now has concealed-carry reciprocity with 39 states.

Stenehjem said concealed-carry license holders still must comply with the laws of the state in which they are carrying.