Children's books: This year's Newbery and Caldecott winners

'Last Stop on Market Street'
Matt De La Pena's "Last Stop on Market Street" won the Newbery Medal for the best children's book of 2015. The book was illustrated by Christian Robinson.
Courtesy of Putnam
'Finding Winnie' by Lindsay Mattick
'Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear' by Lindsay Mattick
Courtesy of Little, Brown

Matt de la Pena's "Last Stop on Market Street" has won the Newbery Medal for the best children's book of 2015. "Finding Winnie," the story behind A.A. Milne's famous literary creation, has won the Caldecott Medal for the top illustrated book.

"Last Stop on Market Street," a story of race and class illustrated by Christian Robinson, also was a finalist for the Caldecott. "Finding Winnie" was illustrated by Sophie Blackall and written by Lindsay Mattick.

The Newbery and Caldecott awards are among the most cherished in children's literature. They were announced Monday by the American Library Association, which has gathered in Boston for its annual midwinter meeting.

Ta-Nehisi Coates' "Between the World and Me," winner last fall of the National Book Award, was among 10 recipients of the Alex prize for adult books that appeal to teen readers. Coates' book is an open letter to his teenage son about racism and police violence. The association also handed out two separate lifetime achievement awards for a former Caldecott winner, the illustrator Jerry Pinckney. Another lifetime achievement honor was given to novelist David Levithan, who also works as editorial director at Scholastic.

Rita Williams-Garcia won her second Coretta Scott King Award in three years for the best book by an African-American writer. Williams-Garcia was cited for "Gone Crazy in Alabama," the third of a trilogy about the Gaither sisters. Laura Ruby's "Bone Gap" won the Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults. The Belpre award for best Latino/Latina book was given to "Enchanted Air: Two Cultures, Two Wings: A Memoir," written by Margarita Engle. Rafael Lopez won the Belpre illustrator prize for "The Drum Dream Girl," written by Margarita Engle.

MPR News is Reader Funded

Before you keep reading, take a moment to donate to MPR News. Your financial support ensures that factual and trusted news and context remain accessible to all.