Fargo-Moorhead News

Voters select incumbent, newcomer for 2 seats on Fargo Park Board

Two people post in portrait photos
Zoë Absey (left) and Jerry Rostad.
Courtesy photos via the Fargo Forum

Voters have selected incumbent Jerry Rostad and newcomer Zoë Absey to fill the two open seats on the Fargo Park Board.

Rostad led the pack with 38 percent of the votes followed by Absey with 33 percent and Mike Graalum with 29 percent.

Just under 18,000 votes were cast in the Fargo Park Board race during Fargo’s primary election on Tuesday, June 11, according to unofficial results from the North Dakota Secretary of State's Office.

This will be Rostad’s third consecutive term on the Park Board.

“I'm very thankful,” Rostad told The Forum. “The Park District has a lot of good things going for it right now, and I’ll be glad to be a part of it for the next four years.”

He thanked his fellow candidates for running and the voters for heading out to the polls.

Meanwhile, Absey will be serving in her first elected position.

“I am overwhelmed with emotion and just gratitude,” Absey said. “I’m very excited for the next four years.”

Going forward, she plans to embrace a “curiosity mindset” to learn so she can help create change.

Sitting Commissioner Dawn Morgan chose not to seek reelection on the Park Board.

The board is elected at-large for four-year terms. They are each paid $7,286.50 annually. Members of the five-person board oversee Fargo’s parks and recreation.

The board meets on the second Tuesday of each month except in August and September, when they meet on the first Tuesday, at 5:30 p.m. in the Fargo Parks Sports Center.

Readers can view meeting records and access meeting agendas, background packets and minutes at www.fargoparks.com/park-board/meeting.

All meetings are open to the public. To address the commission, people must sign up in person in advance of the meeting.

Want more Fargo-Moorhead news? Check out our local page.