Works Progress Administration on Radio Heartland

Works Progress Administration
Luke, Sean and Glen of Works Progress Administration
Photo courtesy of the Artist

Works Progress Administration was a federal government program from the FDR administration which was responsible for creating millions of jobs during the Great Depression. That's the theme behind the new band with the same name.

W.P.A. was formed by members from several bands that played together regularly in an Los Angeles nightclub. Glen Phillips from Toad the Wet Sprocket, session player Luke Bulla and Sean Watkins from Nickel Creek are the principle songwriters in the group. They've known each other for years, but only recently started collaborating on songwriting.

The band is on tour promoting their first recording and stopped in the Radio Heartland studios to chat.

Songs performed: "Always Have My Love," "Who's Gonna Cry For You," and "Rise Up."

Volume Button
Now Listening To Livestream
MPR News logo
On Air
MPR News