State of the Arts Blog

And the winners of the 2012 Sally Awards are…

The Ordway Center for the Performing Arts has announced the 2012 Sally Ordway Irvine Awards honoring special achievement by Minnesota artists.


Anthony Caponi

Photo courtesy Ordway Center

This year's Committment Award went to Anthony Caponi, the founder of of the sixty-acre Caponi Art Park in Eagan.

Pillsbury House directors Faye Price and Noel Raymond received the Initiative Award, for infusing the arts into every aspect of their Minneapolis neighborhood community center.

Mentoring Peace Through Arts founder Jimmy Longoria got the Vision Award, for teaching youth to create murals that deter gang graffiti.

Hillcrest Community School in Bloomington was honored with the Education Award, for integrating the arts into math, science and social studies.

And David J. Fraher, CEO of Arts Midwest won the Arts Access award, for sharing the work of Minnesota artists throughout the U.S.