Ivey Awards honor playwright Jeffrey Hatcher with Lifetime Achievement Award

At the annual event known affectionately to many as "theater prom," playwright Jeffrey Hatcher was crowned king.

Playwright Jeffrey Hatcher (photo courtesy of the Ivey Awards)

Hatcher was recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 9th annual Iveys.

The author of more than 25 plays, Hatcher is perhaps best known for "Compleat Female Stage Beauty," which went on to be produced as a film starring Billy Crudup, Claire Danes, and Rupert Everett.

He's also worked for television and film, ranging from an episode of "Colombo" to "The Duchess," starring Kiera Knightly.

In addition, Ricardo Vásquez was presented with the Emerging Artist Award.

Several others were recognized for exceptional work in specific categories.

Gain a Better Understanding of Today

MPR News is not just a listener supported source of information, it's a resource where listeners are supported. We take you beyond the headlines to the world we share in Minnesota. Become a sustainer today to fuel MPR News all year long.


In the Next Room, Jungle Theater: Overall Excellence

Milly & Tillie, Open Eye Figure Theatre: Overall Excellence

Individual Recognition

Peter Beard & James Napoleon Stone, Directing, Hamlet (Theatre Coup d’Etat)

Raymond Berg, Musical Direction, Urinetown: The Musical (Jungle Theater)

Peter Brosius, Directing, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (Children’s Theatre Company)

Michael Croswell, Sound Design, Misterman (Frank Theatre)

Ensemble, Acting, Clybourne Park (Guthrie Theater)

Ensemble, Acting, Two Sugars, Room for Cream (Hennepin Theatre Trust)

Michael Matthew Ferrell, Choreography, Singin’ in the Rain (Bloomington Civic Theatre)

Katherine Glover, Alissa M. Shellito & Jeri Weiss, Playwrighting, Freshwater Theatre Goes Back to High School (Freshwater Theatre Company)

Dean Holt, Acting, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (Children’s Theatre Company)

Craig Johnson, Acting, Gross Indecency: The Three Trials of Oscar Wilde (Walking Shadow Theatre Company)

The Ivey Awards are given based on evaluations completed by volunteer theater evaluators who saw more than 1,000 performances at Twin Cities theaters over the past year