Sage Awards recognize the year in dance

Each year the SAGE Awards recognize exceptional work in the Minnesota dance scene.

The 2014 winners are:

"One With Others" by Karen Sherman (Photo by Jeffrey Wells)

Outstanding Dance Performance

One with OthersKaren Sherman

Create a More Connected Minnesota

MPR News is your trusted resource for the news you need. With your support, MPR News brings accessible, courageous journalism and authentic conversation to everyone - free of paywalls and barriers. Your gift makes a difference.

Rooted: Hip Hop Choreographers’ Evening – Maia Maiden

Outstanding Dance Performer

Jesse Neumann-Peterson – Under the Current (Sharon Picasso), The Student (Vanessa Voskuil), Azalea Nights (Christine Maginnis/Christopher Watson)

Duncan Schultz TU Dance 10th Anniversary Season

Black Label Movement's "Wreck" (Photo by Randy Karels)

Outstanding Dance Ensemble

Black Label Movement in "Wreck," featuring Ashley Akpaka, Lauren Baker, José Bueno, Natalie Carr, Joe Crook, Crystal Edwards, Jessica Ehlert, Patrick Jeffrey, Margaret Johnson, Alyssa Mann, Miriam Castro Sanjuan, Zack Teska, Cheng Xiong

Outstanding Design

Rosy Simas – Film and set design for "We Wait in the Darkness"

Mike Grogan – Lighting Design for "SenZalma" (Contempo Dance)

Outstanding Dance Educator

Judith Howard

Special Citation

Young Dance

The 10th annual SAGE Awards ceremony also paid homage to the awards' namesake, Sage Cowles,who died late last year.