Bipartisan group calls for new transportation funds

Sen. Roger Reinert, DFL-Duluth, and other members of the "Purple Caucus" announced their session priorities. Tim Pugmire|MPR News

A bipartisan group of state Senators said today they support raising new revenue to fund transportation needs.

DFL and Republican members of the self-described “Purple Caucus” announced their first-ever list of shared legislative priorities.

On transportation, they said “additional dedicated funding” is needed for roads and bridges first, and for transit later. They did not name a source for that long-term funding.

Sen. Bill Weber, R-Luverne, said using part of the nearly $1.9 billion budget surplus is not the complete solution. But he said it would help address a growing backlog of projects.

“There is an opportunity for us, if we prioritize our needs correctly, to provide a jump-start to some of that repair,” Weber said.

Sen. Susan Kent, DFL-Woodbury, said the caucus is working together to craft effective and responsible solutions.

“I know when I listen to folks in my district, that’s what they want us to do, Kent said. “They want us not to be engaged in sort of traditional partisan tit-for-tat. They want us to really focus on the business of the people of the state of Minnesota.”

The group also wants to increase the basic K-12 education funding formula, and reduce unfunded mandates for public schools.

In addition, the lawmakers called for quick adoption of a package of improvements to the state’s child protection system.

The other members of the purple caucus are Sen. Terri Bonoff, DFL-Minnetonka; Sen. Greg Clausen, DFL-Apple Valley; Sen. Jeremy Miller, R-Winona; Sen. Carla Nelson, R-Rochester; Sen. Eric Pratt, R-Prior Lake; Sen. Roger Reinert, DFL-Duluth; Sen. Julie Rosen, R-Vernon Center; and Sen. Kathy Sheran, DFL-Mankato.

Your support matters.

You make MPR News possible. Individual donations are behind the clarity in coverage from our reporters across the state, stories that connect us, and conversations that provide perspectives. Help ensure MPR remains a resource that brings Minnesotans together.