Omar lands DFL leadership post before taking office

rdm MPR Ilhan Omar
DFL candidate Ilhan Omar thanks her supporters after winning the District 60B seat in the Minnesota House of Representatives during an election party at the Courtyard Marriott in Minneapolis, Minn. on Tuesday November 8, 2016. Omar takes over the seat held since 1973 by DFL Rep. Phyllis Kahn. (photo by Richard Marshall for Minnesota Public Radio)

Minnesota House Democrats announced a new leadership team Wednesday that includes incoming freshman Rep.  Ilhan Omar of Minneapolis as an assistant minority leader.

Omar will be the nation’s first Somali-American state legislator when she takes office next month.

Members of the House DFL Caucus elected three deputy minority leaders and six assistant minority leaders to work with new House Minority Leader Melissa Hortman, DFL-Brooklyn Park.

“Our team reflects the diversity, backgrounds and experiences of Minnesota from across the state,” Hortman said in a statement. “We will listen to all voices and are ready to get to work on the issues that will improve the lives of all Minnesotans.”

The deputy minority leaders are Reps. John Applebaum of Minnetonka, Paul Marquart of Dilworth and Rena Moran of St. Paul.

Joining Omar as assistant minority leaders are Reps. Rob Ecklund of International Falls, Mike Freiberg of Golden Valley, Laurie Halverson of Eagan, Ben Lien of Moorhead and Dave Pinto of St. Paul.

Grow the Future of Public Media

MPR News is supported by Members. Gifts from individuals power everything you find here. Make a gift of any amount today to become a Member!