R.T. Rybak declared unofficial winner in election count

Minneapolis mayor R.T. Rybak was declared the unofficial winner of the city's mayoral race this afternoon.

R.T. Rybak won with more than 73 percent of the votes cast on election night, facing a field of 10 challengers. However, there were also more than 200 votes for write-in candidates.

Officials are now left with the most complicated races from the election to count; the at-large park board race and the contest for the board of estimate and taxation. In each race there's more than one seat available.

Officials say they may finish counting the races before the weekend. If so, all the election results may be canvassed and made official by the City Council at the beginning of next month - several weeks ahead of schedule.

Your support matters.

You make MPR News possible. Individual donations are behind the clarity in coverage from our reporters across the state, stories that connect us, and conversations that provide perspectives. Help ensure MPR remains a resource that brings Minnesotans together.