Recruitment of the MnSCU chief begins

We finally have a look at the 16 people who will help the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system find the replacement for Chancellor James H. McCormick, who is retiring next year after a decade in the position.

The people announced today are:

  • Travis Johnson, president of the Minnesota State College Student Association;

  • Andrew Spaeth, state chair of the Minnesota State University Student Association;

  • Don Larsson, president of the Inter Faculty Organization, which represents faculty at the system’s seven state universities;

  • Greg Mulcahy, president of the Minnesota State College Faculty, which represents faculty at the system’s 25 community and technical colleges;

  • Shahzad Ahmad, past president of the Minnesota State University Association of Administrative and Service Faculty, which represents administrative and service faculty;

  • Clarence Hightower, trustee and vice chair of the board and chair of the board’s Human Resources Committee;

  • Christine Rice, trustee and chair of the board’s Academic and Student Affairs Committee;

  • Kevin Kopischke, president of Alexandria Technical and Community College;

  • Edna Mora Szymanski, president of Minnesota State University Moorhead;

  • Carlos Mariani, DFL-St. Paul, state representative and chair of the House K-12 Education Policy and Oversight Committee;

  • Claire Robling, R-Jordan, state senator and ranking minority member of the Senate Higher Education Committee;

  • Sharon Sayles Belton, vice president, community relations and government affairs for Thomson Reuters and former mayor of Minneapolis;

  • Yvonne Cheung Ho, president and CEO of the Metropolitan Economic Development Association;

  • Mark Chronister, board chair, St. Catherine University and board chair of the Minneapolis Foundation; and

  • Paula Prahl, senior vice president of communications, public affairs and corporate responsibility, Best Buy Co., Inc.

Leading the committee is David Olson, a former trustee and former chairman of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.

Trustees also started talking today about the characteristics it's looking for in the next chancellor.

Before you keep reading ...

MPR News is made by Members. Gifts from individuals fuel the programs that you and your neighbors rely on. Donate today to power news, analysis, and community conversations for all.