Siehl Prize awarded

A ceremony to honor this year's winners of the Siehl Prize is set for today at the University of Minnesota. The award recognizes achievements in agriculture. This year's winners are Yue Jin, Phillip Minerich, Ted Huisinga and Ray Norling.

Yue Jin is a research scientist at the U.S. Agriculture Department's Cereal Disease Lab in the Twin Cities. He's working on ways to fight rust disease in wheat and barley.

Phillip Minerich works for Hormel in the areas of food packaging, nutrition, and safety.

Ted Huisinga and Ray Norling with Willmar Poultry Company have been innovators in the turkey production.

The award was established by businessman Eldon Siehl of New Ulm about 20 years ago to honor achievements in agriculture.

Grow the Future of Public Media

MPR News is Member supported public media. Show your support today, donate, and ensure access to local news and in-depth conversations for everyone.