Dayton to put minimum wage boost into law

Gov. Mark Dayton is capping a push to raise Minnesota's minimum wage with a ceremony to sign the bill doing just that. He plans to turn the bill into law Monday afternoon in the Capitol Rotunda.

Related:
Lawmakers boost minimum wage to $9.50/hour
PoliGraph: Thissen's minimum wage claims

Minimum wage workers will get a series of raises beginning this summer. For large employers, the mandatory pay will climb to $8 in August, $9 a year later and $9.50 in 2016. Smaller employers will also have to pay more, although the wage for them reaches only $7.75 per hour by 2016.

The bill also authorizes automatic raises in the years to come that will compensate for inflation. Unless state officials take steps to suspend the raises, pay could rise by up to 2.5 percent per year for minimum wage workers beginning in 2018.

Your support matters.

You make MPR News possible. Individual donations are behind the clarity in coverage from our reporters across the state, stories that connect us, and conversations that provide perspectives. Help ensure MPR remains a resource that brings Minnesotans together.