Some of the laws passed during the latest legislative session take effect next week on Aug. 1. Here's a look at five key changes from a list posted Friday by the Minnesota House of Representatives.
1. Minimum wage increased for the first time in 10 years
The state's minimum hourly wage begins its climb to $9.50 by 2016. First, the state's minimum hourly wage will increase from $6.15 to $8, phasing up to $9.50 by 2016. Beginning in 2018, all wages would increase each year on Jan. 1 by inflation.
• MPR News: Dayton signs minimum wage increase
2. Domestic abusers, stalkers prohibited from having a firearm
A new law prohibits a person subject to an order for protection in a child or domestic abuse case from possessing weapons.
It also requires them and someone convicted of a domestic assault or stalking offense to surrender their firearms if it is part of their punishment.
• MPR News: Bill restricting gun possession heads to Dayton
3. Law targets synthetic drug problem
The manufacturing and distribution of synthetic drugs continues to remain problematic; however, a new law aims to reduce the chances of these ending up in Minnesota communities.
The law expands the definition of drug to include "any compound, substance, or derivative which is not approved for human consumption by the United States Food and Drug Administration or specifically permitted for human consumption by Minnesota law."
4. Data breach prompts new protections, penalties
Several recent high-profile data breaches by public employees spurred a new law that lays out penalties and preventive measures.
The law will require procedures for ensuring that private data is accessible only to those whose work assignment calls for it.
• MPR News: Legislative auditor probing DNR data breach
5. Motorists involved in a collision required to stop and investigate
This law expands a driver's responsibility following a collision. It requires them to stop and investigate what was struck.
It also expands what conditions require a motorist to remain at the scene.